• The Octatonic Scale: Eight Tones Per Octave

    octatonic scale

    In this lesson, we’ll study the octatonic scale, which as the prefix “octa” implies, is an 8-tone scale. We’ll also delve into examples of the octatonic scale and where it’s used.

    Read the full article →

    Master the Diminished Scale In 2 Seconds

    The other day, I answered a question regarding popular gospel scales one can play — and the diminished scale was on my list.

    But it haunted me because this is a pretty big scale… 8 notes to be exact. It’s what we call an octatonic scale. And I knew people wouldn’t want to take the time to learn it in all 12 keys. So here’s a 2 second method I came up with to learn it fast…

    Read the full article →

    How to play a pentatonic scale

    pentagon-small.jpgI’ve received a lot of questions about the pentatonic scale lately so I wanted to reserve some time to break it down. Like a pentagon, which has 5 sides, pentatonic scales have 5 notes. “Pentatonic” doesn’t mean one type of scale though, as some might think. There is a most common one that I’ll talk about below, but the truth is, there are tons of pentatonic scales and they vary widely depending on where you are in the world…

    Read the full article →