• Another Approach To Modes & Improvisation (Advanced)

    Yesterday, we briefly introduced modes.

    We learned that although they have fancy greek names and sound all intricate, they are no more than individual scales that simply start and end on a different tone of the major scale.

    So you literally play ONE scale but you start and end on different notes of that scale, depending on the mode you want to play. It’s that simple.

    What I’ll show you now isn’t quite as simple…

    Read the full article →

    The Secret To Modes

    In your playing, there comes a time when you start getting into soloing and improvisation… and one place to start is “modes.”

    Every major scale comes with 7 modes. At first glance, they can appear intimidating: Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian, Locrian.

    These are greek names to describe each mode of the scale. They sound harder than they are to play, trust me! Let’s get started…

    Read the full article →

    Who else wants to learn how to solo with the “altered scale?”

    In this past lesson, we covered the melodic minor scale. And in this past lesson, we covered the modes of the major scale.

    In today’s lesson, we’ll actually combine the two concepts…


    Read the full article →