• An Introductory Lesson On The Hexatonic Scale

    in Piano

    Post image for An Introductory Lesson On The Hexatonic Scale

    Welcome to this introductory lesson on the hexatonic scale.

    The hexatonic scale is one of the scales every serious jazz or gospel pianist must be familiar with, especially those at the intermediate and pre-advanced skill level.

    In addition to learning what the term hexatonic scale means, we’ll also be focusing on two variants of the scale.

    Let’s get started!

    “What Is A Hexatonic Scale?”

    A scale consists of a melodic progression of notes in ascending or descending order with a fixed distance between successive tones.

    For example, playing all the notes on the keyboard from C to C:

    …produces the C major scale, which is a melodic progression of notes that can be played in ascending or descending. Of course, the distance between the successive tones are fixed.

    Hexatonic Scales — Described

    Although there are so many ways to classify a scale, scales are classified according to the number of notes per octave.

    When a scale consists of six notes per octave, such a scale is said to be hexatonic. The term hexatonic can be broken down into:

    Hex which means six

    Tonic which means tones

    So, the hexatonic scale is simply a six-tone scale.

    Two Common Hexatonic Scale Types

    Although there are several varieties of the hexatonic scale, there are two hexatonic scale types that we’ll be focusing on in this lesson and they are as follows:

    The major hexatonic scale

    The minor hexatonic scale

    Check them out!

    The Major Hexatonic Scale

    C major hexatonic scale:

    Db major hexatonic scale:

    D major hexatonic scale:

    Eb major hexatonic scale:

    E major hexatonic scale:

    F major hexatonic scale:

    Gb major hexatonic scale:

    G major hexatonic scale:

    Ab major hexatonic scale:

    A major hexatonic scale:

    Bb major hexatonic scale:

    B major hexatonic scale:

    The Minor Hexatonic Scale

    C minor hexatonic scale:

    C# minor hexatonic scale:

    D minor hexatonic scale:

    Eb minor hexatonic scale:

    E minor hexatonic scale:

    F minor hexatonic scale:

    F# minor hexatonic scale:

    G minor hexatonic scale:

    G# minor hexatonic scale:

    A minor hexatonic scale:

    Bb minor hexatonic scale:

    B minor hexatonic scale:

    Final Words

    The major and minor hexatonic scales can be used in addition to the natural major and minor scales. Especially in time-signatures that are divisible by three: or in triplets.

    See you in the next lesson.


    The following two tabs change content below.
    Hello, I'm Chuku Onyemachi (aka - "Dr. Pokey") - a musicologist, pianist, author, clinician and Nigerian. Inspired by my role model Jermaine Griggs, I started teaching musicians in my neighborhood in April 2005. Today, I'm privileged to work as the head of education, music consultant, and chief content creator with HearandPlay Music Group sharing my wealth of knowledge with hundreds of thousands of musicians across the world.

    Attention: To learn more about this, I recommend our 500+ page course: The "Official Guide To Piano Playing." Click here for more information.



    { 0 comments… add one now }

    Leave a Comment

    Previous post:

    Next post: